Skip to content
Gina Reynoso, LMFT

Gina Reynoso, LMFT


Licensed in CA #107106
Insurances Accepted: Anthem Blue Cross, Aetna, Health Net/MHN, Cigna/Evernorth
Speaks spanish
I have extensive experience working in diverse mental health settings and detention environments.

My Therapy Style

I have been in private practice since 2018. I also work with the San Diego Sheriff's Department, as a Detentions Mental Health Clinician with extensive experience working in diverse mental health settings and detention environments. I have experience in working with community settings and non profit organizations to improve delivery of care including suicide prevention, as well as providing crisis intervention and clinics to treat their childhood trauma and addictions. Previously I worked with the National City Police Department for eight years, where I also served as a Peer Support Member. I am aware of the unique challenges the profession can have and the impact in the individual's life and his/her family and their relationships. I also have experience working with trauma through Child Welfare Services best known as (CPS), as an emergency worker abuse investigator for five years working with abused children and underserved population in the South Bay area in San Diego County. I have extensive experience working with trauma through domestic violence survivors. In addition to specializing in all relationship issues, anxiety, depression, and couple's therapy, I have taught parenting classes and facilitated domestic violence groups for children and women survivors of domestic violence. I also facilitated groups on healthy relationships and women's empowerment groups.

Education & Training

BS - Psychology, University of Phoenix

MS - Marriage, Family and Children Therapy, University of Phoenix

Get to Know Me

Why did you become a mental health professional?

As a child, I always wanted to be a nun. My mother was my role model always helping people in need. However, in high school I decided to marry instead and be a mother. Since then, I have worked with social service helping people in need through many different non profit organizations like Catholic Charities, Episcopal Community Services, South Bay Community services to name a few. I've been involved in social services since 1996.

What are your interests outside of work?

I enjoy my family and traveling. We do this together. My family and I take multiple trips to different places to enjoy each other's company as well as explore the different cultures and sceneries.

What is one thing you do daily that supports your well-being?

I talk to my children and grandchildren. I have a very strong support network of friends and family.

What book have you read more than once?

The Body Keeps the Score. I am a EMDR provider and this is a book that explains trauma best.

Favorite organization/non-profit?

South Bay Community Services. They serve the south bay area in San Diego to every DV survivor. i had the opportunity to serve in this agency for many years and made a difference in many families attempting to break the cycle and be safe.

How do you recharge?

Prayer, meditation, family time.

Do you have any pets?

Cielo is my Husky puppy. She came into my life after Perris, my old Husky, passed after many years with us and a trip from California to Oregon to recover her when she ran away and end up in Portland. I had to fly to get her and drive back after the animal shelter called me when they found her. She was the best.